Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Frequently asked questions

What documents do I need to take to DPS to get my permit?


Original Birth certificate Original Social Security Card Verification of Enrollment (Waived At This Time) DE964 (receive from drivers education class) Texas Residency Affidavit (on our website) DPS Application (on our website) Fee varies from location. Four forms of proof of residency (TDL, utility bill, insurance card, bank statements, mortage note...) must be older than 30 days and less than 90 days.




Is a teenager required to complete a driver education course before receiving a driver license?


Yes. Texas law requires persons less than 18 years of age to successfully complete a state-approved course in driver education before they are eligible to receive driver licenses.




How long is the teen driver education course?


The classroom phase of a driver education course is at least 32 hours, which cannot be completed in less than 16 days. The in-car phase consists of 7 hours of behind the wheel driving, 7 hours of in-car observation, and an additional 30 hours of behind-the-wheel driving – of which 10 hours must be done at night. The parent or guardian will monitor the additional 30 hours of behind-the-wheel driving. The 30 hours are not required to be provided by the driver education school. However, the hours must be completed in the presence of an adult who holds a valid license, is 21 or older, has at least one year of driving experience, and occupying the seat next to the driver.




What are the contractual timelines and variance policies concerning completion of a teen driver education course?


The contractual timelines is from the start date of class ending on the same date nine months later. In order to extend the nine-month contract parents must sign a variance waiver and pay a fee. The variance policy extends your contract for three months.




If I am absent for a day or two from school, may I get an excused absence and miss those classes?


No. To obtain a Texas driver license prior to the age of 18, all driver education hours in both the classroom and in-car must be attended or made up. Therefore, all absences must be made up no matter if the absence is excused or unexcused. Each school is responsible for developing a make-up plan based on state guidelines. Contact the driver education school staff to obtain a copy of the make-up policy. Schools must limit the number of absences that are allowed and must require students with excessive absences to re-enter or repeat the course.




If I don’t see any drive times how do I schedule?


Students must log on to S2D ( www.Schedule2Drive.com ) every Monday to preview the message board. The message board provides pertinent information about driving as well as when drive times are going to be available to schedule. There is a one time activation fee of $20.00.




I already have my permit; can I register for Drive Time Only Class?


Yes, you may register for Drive Time Only as well as Schedule to drive, which is a separate fee. The Drive Only contract is good for 6 months. Therefore, you must complete all drive times in 6 months from your contract.




I don’t think I can complete my contract in time. What can I do?


You have a few options available. 1. Variance Policy will extend your contract for 3 additional months. 2. FASTPASS, which allows priority, drive time scheduling. 3. Depending on the amount of time you have, you may have to purchase both.




My contract has expired what do I do now?


Visit our office ASAP. There are a few options available.




Do I have to attend DADAP?


Yes, DADAP is part of the 32 hour curriculum. You have to register for this class online.




Can I email or call the school to cancel my drive time?


No. You must cancel using your Schedule2Drive account. Log on and scroll to the bottom of your screen there is a cancel button next to the drive time you want to cancel.




Can I observe in the car if I don't have my permit?


No. You may not drive nor observe without a valid permit.




Do I have to pay the entire cost of the class up front?


No. You may pay installments however there is a $25 fee, We ask for at least half up front. The permit paperwork will not be given until the account is paid in full.




Can I take the DPS driving test at your location even if I didn't take class there?


Yes. all teens who have take a parent taught or a driving class from a commercial school may take a driving test with Amazing. All students must take the 2 hour online ITTD course, bring parent log, and D964 (short green sheet). Please come prepared.




I am an adult, can I take my driving test with Amazing A+ Driving School?


Yes you can take your drivng test with us. Ages 18-24 only. Please check our website for more information.




Do you have classes that I may take on Saturdays only due to my hectic school schedule?


Yes, you can register for the Saturday Only Class. It takes a little longer but it will meet your scheudling needs.





Amazing A+ Driving © 2020